PML-N acquires simple majority for Islamabad Mayorship

NewsPML-N acquires simple majority for Islamabad Mayorship

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Nine independently elected chairmen of various Union Councils of Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) Monday announced joining Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N), bringing the tally of ruling party 29 out of the house of 50.

State Minister for Capital Administration and Development Division (CADD) Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry told media, that the 20 UCs Chairmen had already been elected on the ticket of ruling PML-N in the recent Local Body polls of ICT.

PML-N is now in the position to win the mayorship of Islamabad with 29 seats in Municipal Corporation, the minister said.

Those who joined PML-N, including newly elected chairman Pir Adil Gilani of UC-03, Adil Aziz Qazi of UC-11, Azhar Mehmood from UC-12, Chaudhry Nadeem of UC-14, Syed Abrab Hussain of UC-20, Chaudhry Naeem of UC-30, Haji Gulfraz UC-45, Muhammad Rizwan of UC-47 and Azam Khan of UC-48.

It merits mention here that 14 UCs chairmen and vice chairmen were elected as independent candidates, Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf has the support of 16 UCs Chairmen. After joining of nine chairmen there are five independent UCs Chairmen who have yet to join any party.

The minister said the capital would be transformed into an exemplary city in accordance with the vision of Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif. The newly elected chairmen would enjoy powers, he added.

Responding to a question he said Syed Zafar Ali Shah is integral part of PML-N, win or defeat is part of politics.

Source: APP

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read