Umar Akmal discarded from Pakistan’s T20 squad

SportsUmar Akmal discarded from Pakistan's T20 squad

KARACHI, Pakistan: Dashing batsman Umar Akmal has been left out of Pakistan’s T20 squad for the series against England in the UAE after being handed a show-cause notice for “bringing the PCB and Pakistan Cricket into disrepute”.

It is understood that Akmal attended a party in Hyderabad without the requisite permission during the current Quaid-e-Azam Trophy match between Hyderabad and Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited.

According to reports, Umar Akmal was allegedly attending a party with former Pakistan “A” captain Azeem Ghumman and few other players.

“Umar Akmal had been pencilled in for selection, but he has subsequently been dropped on instructions from the Board, as he has been issued with a show-cause notice for bringing PCB and Pakistan Cricket into disrepute, chief selector Haroon Rashid quoted as saying in a PCB media release.

The selectors have also handed a call-up to uncapped 39-year-old Rafatullah Mohmand who is in contention to open the batting. In 2009, Rafatullah was part of the world-record second-wicket stand in first-class cricket when he added 580 with Aamer Sajjad for Water and Power Development Authority.

Imad Wasim’s position in the T20 squad is subject to fitness and if he is not available all-rounder Bilal Asif will take his place.

Meanwhile, Iftikhar Ahmed has been called into the ODI squad to fill the space created by Younis Khan’s retirement following the first match of the series in Abu Dhabi.

“Having experience of playing first class cricket for many years, with his form, sound technique and fitness, and also given his fielding credentials, Rafatullah Mohmand has been afforded an opportunity as he was considered to have potential to feature in an international T20 competition as an opener,” Haroon Rashid said.

“Iftikhar has filled in the spot vacated by Younis Khan in ODIs; it was considered that he also be tried in the T20 format on the back of his performance on the domestic T20 circuit.”

Besides Umar Akmal, Mukhtar Ahmed also find a place in the team.

Pakistan T20 squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Muhammad Hafeez, Rafatullah Muhmand, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Muhammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Imad Wasim/Bilal (Subject to Imad’s fitness), Imran Khan, Muhammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Aamer Yamin.

Source: APP

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read